DIY victim kit
When did being a victim become so popular? I see it everywhere, people WANT to identify as victims.
From "I'm triggered by seeing other people eating junk food because of my Eating Disorder, so you can't have snacks in my workplace!" to "my mom was a shitty parent because she drank, so you can't have booze at your wedding you invited me to or I'll pitch a fit!" to my all time favorite, "you have to do whatever I say and cater to my every whim because I'm AUTISTIC!".
These people, man. The whining, the bitching, the 'woe is me, I'm the center of the universe,' is downright sickening. Maybe it bothers me so much because I have spent my whole life trying to shuck off the "victim" label people try to lay on my shoulders. Maybe it disgusts me because I have seen real victims with real problems.
My brother has austism. No, not the "tee hee I'm QUIRKY! Look at me being slightly awkward in social situations!" kind of autism, low functioning autism. The kind that renders him completely reliant on other people. He is 24 years old. He can barely speak, he can't bathe himself, he can't be left alone. If you ask him how his day is going, he doesn't understand you. If you want to see someone victimized by autism, look at the boy- no, I'm sorry, the MAN- who can never have a job, or a girlfriend, or kids, or any kind of independence. Don't tell me what a victim you are because you're socially awkward and crowds stress you out.
"You're just an asshole," I'm sure some of you are saying. "Just because you've seen or been through worse doesn't invalidate someone else's victimhood," others are probably thinking. Oh, but it does. Here's a fun fact for you all, since I'm here anonymously. Something I'd never admit face to face with anyone, because it ISN'T RELEVANT. 5/5 (or rather 3/3) doctors agree; I have "high functioning autism". Social tics and discomfort. High stress and even panic attacks in crowded or high pressure situations. Hyper intensive focus on doing the thing and my brain trying to shut everything, no, everyONE else out. Difficulty in personally understanding what is and isnt socially acceptavke even if i know factually what is and isn't. Deep, penetrating, soul shaking phobias.
Let's talk about phobias. In a DIY victim kit, you TOTALLY need a phobia you can use to impose your personal issues on others. You have a phobia of seeing other people eat? Better tell your coworker they need to leave at lunchtime. You have a phobia of feet? Watch out beachgoers! You better strap on your pool shoes before this one blows a gasket about your "insensitivity to my NEEDS!". Phobia of dogs? How DARE you bring your dog to this pet friendly pet store while I'm shopping for cat food, you should have known better!
Want to know mine? Needles. Unfortunate, right? Flu shot season has been a hovering nightmare all my life. Not just being stuck with a needle, though. Just seeing one sends me into hardcore body panic. Sweats, shakes, heart pounding, dizzying, oh shit am I about to have a heart attack or vomit or both PANIC. About 12 years ago, another of my little brothers was diagnosed with childhood diabetes. Not the "exercise and eat well and you'll be fine" diabetes, the "we're sorry, your pancreas has fully shut down. Theres nothing we can do to fix it, heres how you count his carbs and measure his insulin so he doesn't die" diabetes. Guess who body panicked their way through 20 oranges in preparation for giving the little man his first insulin shot without breaking his poor little arm? Yeah. My phobia was not about to be someone else's problem. Because you can work through them, and you dont have to let them impact the people around you.
If you've got social awkwardness, or a phobia of feet, or your parents sucked and yelled at you, I feel for you, life sucks sometimes. However, I do not support you playing the victim for the rest of your life playing like you cant function as a normal adult because of it. I dont want to hear how you can't be a cashier or have any kind of job because you're damaged and its too much pressure and you're sensitive. I dont want to hear how everyone around you has to adjust how they talk or how they dress or how they eat or how they speak because it makes you uncomfortable. I dont want to hear about how sorry we should all feel for you because your parents want you to get a job and pay for yourself when you're 20 years old and still living with them.
LIFE IS HARD. That's the truth. And generations upon generations upon generations have had it harder and pushed through it anyway without just being able to say "I'm triggered, cater to me or I'll just give up". Does nobody want independence anymore? Is strength such a terrible quality?
People have tried to pity me. "Oh poor you, you've been through so much, how do you even carry on!" And I hate it. Have always hated it. I have been through hell, but I am NOT going to let any of it turn me into a perpetual victim. Why would anyone want that.
Comments
Post a Comment